The Low-Down In Cullercoats

Yesterday was a fine spring day – bright sunshine, not a cloud in the sky and only a light breeze:

While I was out taking Huge Dalmatian for a walk along the sea front, I was surprised to see this coming along:

Recumbents aren’t the sort of thing you see every day here, and the rider was nice enough to stop to talk about his steed. I’ve always liked the look of a ‘bent, ever since reading an article in Scientific American about them in about 1987. At the time, a recumbent tricicle had set the world record for one hour, covering something over 50 miles, and a tandem version had done over 55 miles.

As we were talking, this guy rode past:

. . . and he stopped to chat too. That’s an ICE Trike – seriously cool!

The only thing that’s put me off buying one just like that is the price tag – somewhere between £1,500 & £2,000 depending on the specification. So I have plans for a similar vehicle that I can build myself for about £350 – it uses a pair of BMX bikes as donors for the front half, and a 26″ wheeled mountain bike for the rear:

More on this if I ever get around to learning to weld . . . .

Posted in Bike Culture, Photographs, Whitley Bay
0 comments on “The Low-Down In Cullercoats
  1. How would you do the steering on the trike? I couldn’t figure how to accomotate the mechanism ams the different speeds of the two wheels when turning.

  2. It’s possible to build a recumbent without any welds if you think about the design a bit. I built a recumbent for the kids a few years ago with just one weld (which could have been avoided).

    If you want a trike you may find it easier to have a single front wheel and two wheels at the back. I had a home made one like that a few years back too.

    Currently I help with building these, which are great in any weather and go a lot quicker than unfaired ones.

  3. Karl On Sea says:

    Andy –
    Easy. It’s rear-wheel drive, so there’s no mucking about with differentials needed. To avoid wheel scrub on cornering, the steering mechanism is Ackerman Compensated, so that each wheel tracks a circular path to a common centre point.

  4. Rob D says:

    Hello Karl,

    I was as amazed as you to find another recumbent rider, especially when we’d just mentioned ICE trikes whilst chatting – serendipitous in the extreme.

    By the way I remembered after we rode off that a friend of mine is wanting to sell a delta trike – email me and I’ll give you details.

    Rob (the challenge mistral rider from the photo)

  5. stevengaub says:

    Do not take the time to build one unless you are just dying to build the thing. I am Brad Hefta-Gaub’s dad and I have done some long distance rides on a recumbent t but decided I needed to have more stability. I did a lot of surfing and came up with the tw recumbent bike.
    http://stevengaub.sweat365.com/
    http://www.uk-recumbent-bikes.com/tw-trike.html
    http://www.uk-recumbent-bikes.com/tw-trike.html
    http://www.bentrideronline.com/reviews/abtadpole/abtadpole.htm

  6. Gorgeous scenery where you are at. I have seen a couple of these bicycles where I live and have always wanted to stop to talk to the owners about them. Well done for being braver than me and actually doing it!

Leave a comment

Follow Do The Right Thing on WordPress.com